Summary of Muslim Ban 2.0

Posted by: Monuza Ashraf Tags: There is no tags | Categories: recent news



– The Travel Ban 2.0 will not go into effect until March 16, 2017 and the older order, signed on January 27, 2017 has been replaced.

– Ban will not apply to lawful permanent residents and current visa holders. However, expect high scrutiny at the border when entering.
– Starting March 16, ban on all new visas from Iran, Yemen, Syria, Libya, Sudan, and Somalia.
– Iraq was dropped from the list, but visa applicants will face additional processing.
– A 90-day travel restriction for nationals of banned countries starts on March 16, 2017 at 12:01 a.m. EST.
– Green card holders (also known as Legal Permanent Residents) will not banned from entry.
– Dual nationals who enter the U.S. using a passport from a non-designated country will not be banned from entry.
– Travelers and immigrants granted a visa before January 27, 2017 will not be banned from entry.
– Ban waivers will be considered on a case-by-case basis for medical care, business, and study, and certain family relationships. However, we do not yet have any information about the waiver process.

– A 120-day stoppage of entry for all refugees will begin March 16, 2017, except for those groups of refugees already scheduled for travel.
– Syrian refugees are no longer specifically excluded for an indefinite period of time, but they are included in the general 120-day halt.
– The number of refugees to be admitted to the United States for fiscal year 2017 has been reduced to 50,000 down from 110,000.


Please fill our our CAIR-Columbus travel ban intake form ( if you or someone you know are impacted by this executive order with a specific case and are seeking legal advice and assistance.
If you would like us to deliver a “Know Your Rights” presentation regarding this issue, or the other Executive Orders that have been implemented on Border Security and Interior Enforcement, you can submit a speaker request form (


Comments are closed.

Skip to toolbar